Hiroshima – Day 8?

Ok, these updates may not be as real time as I thought. I’ll have to revisit days 3-7, but at least I’ll get today up. Today we went to Hiroshima.

We left the hotel at around 8 am to catch the 9:03 Shinkansen(bullet train) out of Tokyo. It’s about half an hour metro ride from our hotel to Tokyo station. We got to our hotel in Hiroshima at about 2pm, so about 5 hours total of traveling time.

Shinkansen

We decided to get a Japanese style hotel room which does not have beds. You sleep on mats on the floor. Haven’t actually slept on it yet, but based on sitting, pretty comfy.

After checking in we went to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum, which is quite a humbling experience. It actually changed some of my views. I used to think that it was justified to end the war. Now that I know more (I don’t think was biased, as the beginning of the exhibit is about Japan before Hiroshima happened, and they don’t paint themselves in a good light).

My opinion now, is that that bomb should never have been dropped. Germany had basically already surrendered. Japan was pretty much already beat, but unwilling to surrender due to the surrender terms me gave them, which we(well, the allies) knew would be unacceptable to them. We did it to reduce Soviet influence.

Some of the exhibits were pretty chilling:

15 AM

I’m gonna have to cut off of now and revisit this post tomorrow. Internet is getting real flaky. Tomorrow we’re off to Kyoto.

~ by chriggy on June 19, 2008.

8 Responses to “Hiroshima – Day 8?”

  1. I heard that they tried to surrender after Hiroshima but before Nagasaki, but their infrastructure was so traumatized they couldn’t get the message out in time before the 2nd bomb. No clue if that’s true.

  2. It wasn’t mentioned. At least I don’t recall it being mentioned.

  3. The museum really is moving, isn’t it. Before we visited, my friend and I both agreed we’d been desensitized by all of the violence and war seen on TV, yet we hardly spoke after leaving the museum. What can you say… very humbling indeed. It was the highlight of my trip to Japan and I’m hoping to spend more time around Hiroshima when I next can.

  4. I would say humbling is an understatement. I was barely able to speak after leaving the museum myself.

  5. […] Read about here: chriggy.wordpress.com/2008/06/19/hiroshima-day-8/ […]

  6. […] Read about here: chriggy.wordpress.com/2008/06/19/hiroshima-day-8/ […]

  7. Hello there, I discovered your web site via Google while looking for a comparable topic, your web site got here
    up, it appears to be like great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog via Google,
    and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in the event you continue this in future. A lot of people can be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  8. May I simply say what a comfort to uncover a person that truly knows
    what they are talking about over the internet. You actually understand how to
    bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More and more people have to look at this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular since you surely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

 
