Regeneration Tour 2008

On Tuesday we went to go see the Regeneration Tour at Wolf Trap. Now normally, I avoid mid week events, but I just couldn’t pass this one up. ABC, Belinda Carlisle, The Human League, Naked Eyes and A Flock of Seagulls all playing under the same roof. A Flock of Seagulls! There was no way I was passing this one up.

We got there pretty early (6pm for a 7pm concert), since we had gotten lawn seating and wanted to get a decent spot. If you’re inside the pavilion, you can’t eat or drink, but as far as the lawn goes, you can bring anything you want, which considerably cuts down on drinking expenses. Plus the tickets for the lawn were only $31 including all service charges. By the time we got there, the lawn was already pretty filled, but we still managed to get a decent spot fairly near the front.

Side Rant: I am never, ever going to listen to what the website says about the use of cameras again. The website clearly stated that except for press, no video or photography will be allowed. Of course we get there, and everyone and their mother has a camera with them. Not only did the staff not care, people actually handed them their cameras so they could get their picture taken, and the staff was more than happy to oblige. Thanks, Wolf Trap. I get to see A Flock of Seagulls, one of my favorite 80’s bands, and all I have to show for it is some crappy cell phone video, which is of such bad quality that I would be embarrassed to even post it. Next time, I’m bringing my camera, and if I have to go to the car to put it away, then so be it. Not that I’ll probably ever get to see A Flock of Seagulls again. End Rant.

The first band to go on was Naked Eyes. They had a little bit of a rough start due to the sound guy messing up. Apparently the singer couldn’t hear himself, so the first song was all out of tune. I’ll buy his excuse, since he sounded fine by the second song, after the sound guy adjusted the levels.

Next up was A Flock of Seagulls. This was the band I was really there to see. Everything else was just icing on the cake. They did not disappoint, and ended their set with “I Ran”. I only wish they had played longer.

ABC was up after that. They played a good set, even though they were never really one of my favorite bands.

Then Belinda Carlisle took the stage. She sang some of her solo songs, but who are we kidding here? We all know what people really wanted to hear was The Go-Go’s, so she threw some Go-Go’s songs like “Vacation”, “We Got the Beat” and “Our Lips our Sealed in there”. Not a bad performance for a 50 year old. She also still looks pretty hot for a 50 year old.

Finally it was time for The Human League. At this point it became obvious that they were considered the “headliners”. For the first 4 sets, all of the bands equipment was already on stage, so they just had to walk over to their respective equipment and start playing. They completely redid the stage for Human League. They also played longer than the other bands.

Definitely a good show, and I’m glad I went.

~ by chriggy on August 28, 2008.

2 Responses to “Regeneration Tour 2008”

  1. Heh — I would have preferred the Belinda Carlisle solo stuff over the Go-Go’s 🙂 Never did hear Flock of Seagulls.

    anyway: I have made a similar rant about cameras! They just say no to probabilistically make their lives easier IN CASE cameras aren’t allowed. People who run venues are so clueless! It’s a simple 0/1 value that they could find out!

  2. Not that her solo stuff is bad, but in the context of a concert with 80’s bands, people definitely wanted to hear some Go-Go’s.

Leave a Reply

 
