Rant: My credit card company

So, I get home today and open the mail to find out that my credit card company has sent me replacement credit cards. Huh? I didn’t order any replacements. Our card isn’t set to expire any time soon. So I read the insert, and basically a merchant’s database has been compromised, so for security reasons they sent us new cards. This is all fine and dandy, and I will say, they are great at catching fraud. My card has been compromised twice before, and both times they had flagged the charges as suspicious and contacted me to verify before I even knew there were bad charges on them. They have never, ever flagged a single transaction that I actually made.

So where’s the rant, you may ask? Here it comes. They sent me the new cards in a plain, white, unmarked, cardboard envelope. It was thick enough not to be able to tell what’s inside. What’s the problem here?

I’ll tell you what the problem is. 90% of this stuff gets classified as JUNK MAIL be me. It either gets trashed without even opening, or at the very least sits around in my “to look at later” pile (i.e, the pool table) for a few weeks, at which point it may still get trashed without opening. That’s unless someone moves it, and it winds up in my “oh shit, forgot about that six months ago” pile.

So the notice kindly informs me that I have x days to activate my cards or my account will be closed. Yup, you heard that right. My account will be CLOSED. Not that my card will be deactivated. My account will be CLOSED.

<SARCASRM>Thank you, assholes, for kindly informing me either by email or phone to expect a plain white envelope with credit cards in there. </SARCASM> Had Shannon not pointed out the envelope saying, I think there’s something in there, I would have had my account closed, and most likely would have had to reapply for a new card.

I’m glad they caught it, but now I STILL have to deal with switching over everything that’s set to auto-bill.

FUCKERS!

~ by chriggy on October 8, 2008.

7 Responses to “Rant: My credit card company”

  1. It’s standard to mail credit cards in unmarked envelopes. I can’t ever receiving a replacement in a marked envelope. They would be tempting targets to thieves, if labeled. As would an envelope labeled “cash”…

  2. They would be useless to thieves, seeing as when you get the card you have to call to activate. From your own phone.

  3. That’s what the cards say on them, but I’ve activated mine in an airport before with hardly a hitch. They want you to use the card. All you need is identifiable data that anyone stealing your identity would already have. And caller id is easy to spoof – there’s even legal services.

  4. (That is to say, they are quite willing to activate your card from another location if you provide them with the right details.)

  5. Not that any of this really matters, because:

    I’ve also had a credit card in a compromised database too — where they sent me a new one and decomissioned the old number. Guess what? A shady past biller whom I had decided to end my relationship with via virtue of not providing the new number re-billed me — and it got to my bill, even though they were never given my number.

    It’s almost like policy is what matters, not technicality. And getting people to break policy is apparently pretty easy when money is involved.

  6. My biggest beef wasn’t so much with the envelope itself, as much as not notifying me to be expecting one. That combined with the possibility of having the account CLOSED. I repeat: CLOSED. This is different than decommissioning the account number.

    I’m also wondering, if given the current credit crunch, a vendor really was compromised, or if this is just a ploy to give them a reason to close some accounts.

    BTW, ending a relationship simply by not providing a new number is not a good idea. Unless you explicitly canceled your account with them, you are still legally liable, whether due to technical reasons that charge goes through or not. If they wish, they CAN send your account to collections and blemish your credit rating.

    But yeah, your credit company screwed up there. When it happened to me, no further charges ever went through. I basically got notice from the merchant saying my card was no longer valid and to please update my info.

  7. Update:

    NOW they sent me an email. 😐

Leave a Reply

 
