links for 2008-11-18

Our House
Our House-1
Our House-2
Our House-3
Our House-4

~ by chriggy on November 19, 2008.

12 Responses to “links for 2008-11-18”

  1. I wish these things had massive export plugins. I’d love to be able to map my house, then export it is a map.. to every game i play, ever. Quake1-4. Doom1-4. Halo. AutoCAD. Whatever. A unviersal 3-d converter would be a monster to maintain tho 🙂

  2. They do. But of course you have to get the “pro” version to be able to do that. A measly $495.

    But the free version does let you export simple models as a .kmz for use in things such as google earth, the initial reason I got it in the first place. THEN, I got a little carried away.

    But hey, there’s always torrents. They ARE out there. 🙂

  3. UPDATE: Added pictures

  4. Oh, much cooler with the pics!
    So the Pro version exports Quake3 maps?!?!?!

  5. Not directly, but it does the major formats: dxf, dwg, obj, vrml …

    I have heard of people exporting to obj, and then importing that into a level editor.

  6. Very sweet! Must go play now.

  7. Love the Sketchup, I feel like I’m at your place! I use it a lot for Interior Design. I most recently used it to present the interior for a nightclub I designed. I would love to share but I need to know how you got the screenshots…please enlighten!!!

    • It’s pretty easy. I just did a shift+prt scn(the insert key). This copies the screenshot to the clipboard. Then paste into any any image editing software.

  8. Just in case it matters, PrintScreen is not *necessarily* the insert key.

    That’s only true for 1 of the 11 keyboards in this room (happen to be cleaning out old gadget area today so it was really easy to check… Going to photo some hardware before trashing it to submit to the Hardware Graveyard/Abused Technology photopools).

    Also, PrintScreen copies everything to clipboard. Alt-PrintScreen just does the active window. I’m not sure shift-printscreen is any different than printscreen.

  9. It may differ from keyboard to keyboard(something I hadn’t really payed attention to in the past). I was simply looking at my laptops keyboard.

    Hmm, I didn’t know about alt+printscreen. Useful to know.
    Shift printsreen is no different than prinscreen, except that on some keyboards, you have to shift just to be able to printscreen.

    Actually, In my laptop’s case, its fn+printscreen, and to do the alt thing I have to fn+alt+printscreen.

  10. @toby: once you find the “prt sc” key on your keyboard, this should work with ANY windows app, not just SketchUp.

  11. Twisted!

Leave a Reply

 
